My Story

I feel I owe my story, because I’m asking some of my friends and peers to share theirs.  I’ve chosen to remain anonymous, and I’ll be doing the same for the people and companies I blog about here.  I think that the information is still important, but it’s better to give everyone some privacy.

I was an Army brat, growing up in some amazing places like Europe and South Korea.  My Dad was a military officer, who later transitioned to a career in finance.  I attended the same college he did, choosing a military service academy.  I was attracted to the combination of prestige, education, and military service.  I loved the challenge.  I would then spend the next five years after graduation serving as an officer in the United States Army, including two deployments overseas to Iraq.  I was fortunate to work with great units, leaders, and mentors.

The decision to leave the military was a tough one.  (And I believe it is for most people!)  I didn’t enter my service believing I would leave; instead, I left myself open to either possibility.  In the end, I knew I’d accomplished my goals in the military.  I had an interest in business; I even took the GMAT twice to prepare myself for business school!  As I researched different opportunities, established myself on LinkedIn, and talked to my peers going through similar transitions, I decided to work with a professional recruiter.  I chose a well-recommended recruiter that specialized in military officers transitioning to Corporate America, had a rigorous professional development program, and was a good match for my career goals.   I’m excited about my career conference with them in just a couple of months, and I plan to keep you posted throughout the process!

My ultimate goal is to find a good job in business, working for a company I like and believe in. I want to enjoy my work, which I believe is a goal/dream that everyone has!  Completing my MBA is still a top goal and priority of mine, but I haven’t decided yet how I want to do it.  I’m a work in progress.

What’s your story?

Leave a Reply

