Free GMAT/GRE!

Even though I didn’t end up going to grad school right after the Army, I did take the GMAT… and it was FREE.

I highly encourage you to take the GRE/GMAT while you are still in the military, because DANTES (Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support) will reimburse the cost of that exam.  For me, that was $250 back in my pocket for the GMAT.  Your scores are good for five years, so even if you go to work after you transition, you’ll be able to get into grad school with that exam score for a while.  If you don’t want to go to grad school within five years, it’s at least a free practice test so you know what to expect.

To qualify for a GRE/GMAT fee reimbursement through DANTES, you need:

  • a valid, current “Armed Forces of the United States” identification card at testing
  • have never taken a DANTES funded GRE/GMAT exam
  • apply for reimbursement within 90 days of the scheduled test date

You have to register, schedule, and pay for the exam yourself.  Once you finish the test, hang on to your paperwork!  You will need it to fill out the form you receive from a Test Control Officer, typically found at your base’s Education Center.

I also highly recommend studying for the test and investing in study materials!  (I loved the Manhattan GMAT books and practice tests!)  I was seriously considering business school, so I ended up taking the exam twice since I was unhappy with my first score.  Since the first round was free, it didn’t feel so terrible paying for a second attempt.  I improved my score by 90 points, so I consider it a success!

If you’re considering grad school, take advantage of this benefit for servicemembers!

One thought on “Free GMAT/GRE!

  1. Pingback: Giveaway for GMAT/GRE Study Prep! @magoosh | From Camo to Corporate

Leave a Reply

