How to choose? Weighing job offers…

Image: jscreationzs / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’m at the point in my job search, after follow-ups, where I am fortunate enough to have different offers to consider.  But it’s proving to be much harder than I’d thought to choose!  I’m so grateful to have options, but this is a huge step in my post-military career.  How do we make the right choices, especially when aspects of the jobs are so varying… location, cost of living, salary, work culture/environment, job description?

I had dinner with a good friend the other day, and she gave me some sage advice.  A few years ago, she was at a similar point in her life, weighing job offers and trying to figure out what to do with her life.  She said she sat down, and made two lists.

The first, “What are the reasons I would take a job that paid $30,000 a year?”

The second, “What are the reasons I wouldn’t take a job that paid $300,000?”

The answers to these questions will give you insight into what you’re looking for in a job. The first question will yield answers like great work-life balance, passion for the job, and positive culture/environment.  The second will tell you what isn’t good for you in a career, like no free time from work, compromising your integrity, and more.

By knowing what you’d be willing to do for little pay, and what you wouldn’t do even for a huge salary, you’ll have an idea of what your non-negotiables are.

As I consider the options, I’m making a mental list of my non-negotiables.  I want a job, not a career.  I want to develop and grow in a position.  I want to be busy, thinking, creating, contributing… and that is what I am searching for as I make this leap.

One thought on “How to choose? Weighing job offers…

  1. Pingback: My Success Story | From Camo to Corporate

Leave a Reply

